2021-2022 BOARD MEMBERS

School Board

Email Address

Father Levi Nkwocha

Frlevi@stselkhart.com

Mr. Christopher Adamo, Principal

cadamo@stselkhart.com

Mr. David Lorence, President

dlorence@live.com

Mrs. Bethany Stauffer, Member

staufferbethany@gmail.com

Mrs. Beth Mahaffa, Secretary

bmahaffa@stselkhart.com

Mrs. Stephanie Szymanowski, Member

srszyman@gmail.com

Mrs. Kelsey Todt, Member

ktodt28@hotmail.com

Mr. Dan Weaver, Member

Mr. John Pickard, Member

johnpickcard@gmail.com

Jennifer Horoky, Catholic Identity

emailkd@aol.com

Julianne Miller, Member

juliannemkwasny@gmail.com

Ann Britzke, Member

acbritzke@gmail.com

Amanda Fruth, Member

afruth@stselkhart.com

Melissa Morey, Assistant Principal

mmorey@stselkhart.com

ROLE OF THE ST. THOMAS THE APOSTLE SCHOOL BOARD

The School Board is established by the pastor, in accordance with Diocesan policy, to assist him and the principal in the governance of the parish school. Once the Board reaches consensus on a matter of policy, the decision is effective and binding when and if it is approved by the pastor.

The Board is consultative in the following sense: the members cannot act apart from the pastor and principal and cannot make decisions binding on the parish school without the approval of the pastor. Board policy and decisions shall be binding throughout the parish when they are accepted, approved and promulgated by the pastor.

The responsibilities of the School Board of St. Thomas the Apostle School include, but are not limited to:

  1. Witnessing the application of the Catholic identity and educational mission of the school.

  2. Developing, implementing and reviewing policies for the school in conformity with all Diocesan policies and Indiana state law.

  3. Developing and maintaining the mission statement and strategic planning for the school.

  4. Development of means to finance ongoing educational programs, including public relations and marketing of the school.

  5. Providing a means for school organizations to communicate their goals and activities in an effort to coordinate their efforts for the benefit of the school.

THE SCHOOL BOARD DOES NOT

  1. Administer the school.

  2. Tell the principal how to administer the school, but gives direction through policy.

  3. Hire, evaluate, nor terminate faculty members.

  4. Have jurisdiction to hear and resolve complaints of students, parents, faculty or staff.

  5. Act as a grievance committee or conciliator, as such.